Speed Junkie

I kinda have a reputation with the locals of always jacking up the pace (as best as my fatness will let me) out on group rides.  It irritates some people but I can’t help myself.  I’m a speed junkie.  Becoming physically fit is not the reason I ride, it has just been a byproduct of my craving for speed but it is a vicious cycle.  The fitter I get the faster I go and the faster I go the fitter I get.  I really have no desire to ride (much) by myself.  I’m the happiest when I’m in a fast group and everybody is working together and we’re cranking along in the upper twenties.  I’m really in hebbin if we are in the thirties.  I don’t know why but I really enjoy the group dynamic of hauling ass as a cohesive unit.  I was actually a little disappointed on the Logan to Preston stretch of Lotoja.  I had visions of being sucked along in a fast moving peloton but it ended up being a 20 mph double paceline the whole way.

Here’s a little history of how I got strung out on speed.

I started out BMX racing back in the 70’s and back then most of the tracks were downhill.

John Palfryman 1975 on the Bonzai downhill!

John Palfryman 1975 - Best BMX photo evar!!!

A few cranks out of the gate and then hang on until the finish.  Then in the mid 80’s the BMX community developed what are called GPVs (gravity powered vehicles) or gravity bikes.

gravity-bike-256

They were basically motorless cafe racers.  I never had a fairing on mine so the fastest I ever went was around 65 mph but the guys with fairings were hitting 85 mph down the Palm Springs Tram road.

I tried my hand a street luging…

Yours truly

Yours truly

…but that was short lived because I’m just getting too old and crashing on pavement at speeds over 50 mph is a drag.

See what I mean

See what I mean

I’ve been in the fifties on my road bike but a few speed wobble episodes have kind of tempered that down too.  So I guess you guys will have to continue with your enabling of my need for speed with fast moving pace lines.

I’m thinking of trying my hand at a few road races next season so we’ll have to see how that works.

One response to “Speed Junkie

  1. It’s all relative. My fastest speed – 62.4 mph down the west side of Teton Pass.

    Love the road rash.

Leave a Reply

